Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour


Submitted on
September 3, 2011
Image Size
212 KB


24 (who?)
Sprinkles Contain Dead Animals by Herbivoree Sprinkles Contain Dead Animals by Herbivoree
Products with the ingredients shellac, carmine, carminic acid, and red 34 are never vegan or vegetarian because they contain ground up insects - which are animals obviously.

Confectioners glaze is usually not vegan or vegetarian. It is possible to make an animal friendly version out of a corn protein but you'd have to contact the company to verify. As of yet I have not found any company that makes animal friendly confectioners glaze.

Natural colour or colour are usually not vegan or vegetarian. It could be ground up insects or it could be a plant. Always ask the manufacturer. Don't pay for products that kill or use animals.

For more information check out this great article [link] and I'll probably be writing my own blog article about the theory of eating insects soon.

Please note me if you'd like to use this anywhere. I love to share.
Add a Comment:
Thanks for letting me know.
this is very interesting to know, I'll be sure to mention it the next time my parents tell me to eat something healthy like meat instead

I personally have nothing against eating insects, assuming of course that they are farmed sustainably with no threat to the environment
TACKennels Aug 31, 2012  Student General Artist
o.e I will never eat sprinkles anywhere or anytime again >.<
Gul0Gul0 Apr 26, 2012
Who cares? It's tasty and it makes food look better.
ShroudedMist97 Oct 16, 2011  Student General Artist
Very informative; thanks :)
I try my best to avoid animal products like these (eating bugs...eww) but it's somewhat harder since my parents don't support me... But still, at least your comics are one way to spread the message. Keep it up! :D
CrazyChickenWorld Sep 15, 2011  Professional Photographer
Question: do vegans use toothpaste?
I use toothpaste that says certified vegan on it. ^^ Most toothpaste is made by companies that test on animals and some I suppose can have animal byproducts in it. Every vegan is different I guess - but yes I do, just very specific brands only.
CrazyChickenWorld Sep 18, 2011  Professional Photographer
that's very interesting that there's a brand like that. cuz that made me wonder how Buddhists and vegans get through their lives without hurting a single animal. i was veggie for like 6 yrs. and did a lot of that stuff.
Well the problem is that animal use is so ingrained into most cultures that it's almost impossible to never ever use animals. Supposedly there is something from horses in car tires and in computer monitors. My philosophy as a vegan is that I try my absolute best to avoid financially supporting animal suffering. I constantly add new things to my memory list to not eat or use, and when those get easy I go online, find new ones and add more. It's not about being perfect, it's about trying. ^^

At the end of the day I think animals are in sprinkles and tires and computer monitors because we live in a culture that eats and uses animals all the time. If we lived in a society where 50% of people were vegan, it wouldn't be cost effective to put insects in sprinkles so they'd just stop. If people didn't buy cow meat then the price of milk would go up and no one would buy milk, it's this big circle of causes. The only way to get there is to try and inspire cultural change, or at least that's what I believe and try to do.
Add a Comment: